A Beautiful New Sketchbook

Just bought a new sketchbook today after I spent about twenty minutes agonizing over all of the options. I am extremely picky when it comes to selecting one. I like them small but not too small. I like them with thick paper but not too thick. I like them with a hard cover but not too hard. Okay, that last one was just me being stupid, but you get the idea. However, I am extremely rough with my sketchbooks since I take them practically everywhere, so I do require a hard cover.

After buying it, I promptly went to my favorite little coffee shop, sat myself down, and started doodling away. I always feel a bit of pressure when making the first drawing. I view it as the introduction to a book I’m considering reading. The first page should ideally hook the reader right away, submerge them into the world the author crafts. Therefore, if my first drawing doesn’t excite me, I loose a lot of motivation to keep drawing in that particular sketchbook. I guess it’s just a weird fact about me. Luckily, this has only happened with two sketchbooks, and both of them were rather inexpensive that I bought on sale. Anyway, below is the first drawing in my marvelous sketchbook that I’ve started to fondly call my baby (yes, I know it’s cliche!).

On a side note, I went to the doctors today to discover I have a massive ear infection in my left ear. It feels like someone is repeatedly stabbing it with a tiny knife, and I’ve nearly bursted into tear on multiple occasion because it’s so painful. Mind you, I have an extremely high pain tolerance that is backed up by the fact that I played a month of soccer on a sprained ankle. I would of kept playing on it, but I sort of collapsed after a game since my ankle just sort of gave out on me. I am aware of the stupidity of my decision, but I swear it honestly didn’t hurt that bad, and I would have never guessed it was sprained. Image

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

